How to prevent Windows 8 from automatically signing in the last user

If you are using or have used Windows 8 than you must have noticed that it automatically signs in the last user who reboot/shutdown the system. Although this feature allows you to have faster log-in but for Windows 8 users, who have multiple user accounts find this feature annoying. Instead of an automatic log-in, a list of users on log-on Screen will be much usable option for them(something Windows 8 don’t show). Following is a simple Tweak that allows you to add this functionality to Windows 8 and prevent Windows 8 from automatically signing in the last user.

In Windows 8, the Automatic sign in of last user process is controlled by a registry key called “UserSwitch” via the “Enabled” DWORD value at the following registry key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\

Authentication\LogonUI\UserSwitch


How to prevent Windows 8 from automatically signing in the last user

All you have to do is change the “Enabled” parameter value from 0 to 1, this will force Windows 8 to show the list of users instead of the last user automatically getting signed in. However, at every start-up LogonUI.exe process sets the “Enabled” value to zero, even if it was manually changed by user to 1. The reason behind this is that the ownership of this key is with the SYSTEM and not the USER. Reason of this behavior is yet unknown.

To prevent our Changes from being Overwritten, we have to remove the write permission from the key and set it to read only. To do that

1. Press Win+R keys on the keyboard and type the following command( make sure that you have disabled the automatic sign in option)

netplwiz

2. Press Enter. In the User account Window, check the option “Users must enter a user name and password to use this   computer”.

To do the above steps in just one click, you can also use this Script

1. Download this Script.

2. Unzip the files from the archive.

3. Right click on the DISABLE_automatic_sign_in.cmd file and choose the “Run as Administrator” menu item.

To revert back the changes made, Right click on the RESTORE_automatic_sign_in.cmd file and choose the “Run as Administrator” menu item.

Enjoyed This Article? Follow us on Facebook or  Twitter, add us to your circle on Google+ or subscribe to our RSS feed to kick off your day with useful tips.